Jonathan Harvey and Jean-Claude Carrière
Circles of Silence

The opera Wagner Dream, by composer Jonathan Harvey, premiered in 2007. In this cahier, Harvey discusses with his librettist Jean-Claude Carrière the ideas underlying the opera and, in a detailed essay about the undecidability of music, reveals the opera’s Buddhist leitmotifs. With images from the opera and explanatory marginalia, this cahier offers a clear insight into the work of one of the foremost contemporary composers of electro-acoustic music.

< Previous Cahier ... Next Cahier >

  • 40 pages

  • 8 colour illustrations

  • 240 x 150mm

  • ISBN 


  • Publication date: 


  • Sewn paperback with dust jacket

  • Available as part of boxed set of six cahiers

    £ 72